01950 47768707795 518808info@selfcateringshetland.co.uk

Brekka Lodge Blog

UP HELLY AA FESTIVALS

Up Helly Aa Festivals

You may have heard about Shetland's annual Up Helly Aa celebrations? But did you know that there are 12 festivals between January and March per annum.

The following are the 2020 dates for each of the festivals (annual dates in brackets):

Scalloway Fire Festival - Friday 10th January 2020 (second Friday in January)

Lerwick Up Helly Aa and Junior Up Helly Aa - Tuesday 28th January 2020 (last Tuesday in January)

Nesting and Girlsta Up Helly Aa - Friday 7th February 2020 (10 days after Lerwick Up Helly Aa)

Uyeasound Up Helly Aa - Friday 14th February 2020 (usually second Friday in February)

Northmavine Up Helly Aa - Friday 21st February 2020 (third Friday in February)

Bressay Up Helly Aa - Friday 28th February 2020 (last Friday in February)

Cullivoe Up Helly Aa - Friday 28th February 2020 (last Friday in February)

Norwick Up Helly Aa - Saturday 29th February 2020 (last Saturday in February)

South Mainland Up Helly Aa - Friday 13th March 2020 (second Friday in March)

Walls Junior Up Helly Aa - Saturday 14th March 2020 (second Saturday in March)

Delting Up Helly Aa - Friday 20th March 2020 (third Friday in March)

Each festival is guaranteed to be packed with fire and Vikings cheering to the crowds!

Back to all posts

TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2018 & 2019

To read more from our happy customers or to share your Brekka Lodge experience, please visit our TripAdvisor page. Remember to book direct to avoid unnecessary commission. Alternatively, use the link below to visit our Facebook page for more images. 

Tripadvisor